Past events

Back

Webinar: Strengthening Food Systems in Fragile Contexts

Monday August 3rd, 2020 - 2.00PM CEST/1.00PM BST/08.00 US EST 

To join the webinar please click here 

The Global Panel on Agriculture and Food Systems for Nutrition is pleased to launch its latest policy brief, Strengthening food systems in fragile contexts. 

This policy brief seeks to stimulate international development organisations, governments, and other stakeholders, to realign policies within fragile contexts to ensure that diet and nutrition are improved, whilst also building more sustainable, resilient food systems. Currently, 1.8 billion people live in fragile regions with high societal, economic, environmental, political and security risks. By 2030, according to OECD, this is projected to reach 2.3 billion, and will include 80% of the global poor. In 2020 fragile states were disproportionately affected by food crises. 

Join the Global Panel and WFP for a panel of global food systems and nutrition experts who will discuss policy priorities for strengthening food systems in humanitarian crises. 

Follow the conversation on Twitter using #Food Systems in #FragileContexts during the webinar.

More info and agenda available here

Sign up for UNSCN e-alerts and e-newsletters

Sign up

Nutrition-sensitive investments in agriculture and food systems. Budget analysis guidance note This publication outlines methods and actions for countries to monitor nutrition-related spending. It will contribute to understanding the importance and opportunities for countries to use costing and…
Call for experts - WHO initiative to estimate the global burden of foodborne diseases Deadline: 31 October 2020 Background Foodborne diseases are a major cause of human morbidity and mortality. According to the global estimates from the WHO Foodborne Disease Burden Epidemiology…